faith in humanity restored?

Just a quick comment about something my wife experienced this morning…

For various reasons, it’s been a couple weeks since she’s been to the gym, and more like 5 or 6 months since I’ve been. This morning, we both rededicated and I was up at the crack of dawn and dragged myself to the gym (which as a side note, felt great when I was done – and amazing how much easier it is to work out once you’ve quit smoking).

As I drove home, my wife called me, having just passed me on her way to the gym and was upset because she couldn’t find her iPod. I understand – working out sans music is a torture worse than having a filling done at the Dentist with no Novocain. Of course, as is standard for a wife to her husband, I was the reason it was lost, after all I simply moved her work out bag to a different location and therefore it had to have fallen out. But that’s a discussion for a different day and time.

When she arrived at the gym and inquired at the front desk, they all but laughed. Yeah right, lady, I’m sure someone turned in your iPod. Dejected, and knowing the AMEX card in her wallet would surely get a workout itself later in the day at Best Buy or the Apple Store, imagine her surprise when she went to the same locker she always uses and there, sitting alone and waiting, was her iPod!

Sure, maybe no one used that locker in 2 weeks… but considering how busy our gym is, that’s unlikely. Instead, we both rather think that people just left it, waiting for its rightful owner to come and claim the little technology vault of yelling & screaming that my wife calls music (yes, we have very different taste). Her faith, and mine, in humanity has been restored.

Of course, if it was just dumb luck and no one used that locker, couldn’t that same dumb luck shine down upon us when we buy our lotto tickets?

Got something to say to me? russellwolf.blog@gmail.com

One Response to faith in humanity restored?

  1. adriana says:

    I’m gonna say it was goodwill. I think there are good people out there. The kind of people who know better, so they DO better.
    That helps me get through the day.

Leave a Reply

